DIY Wort Chiller Help

Sun Aug 23, 2015 7:26 am

Hey Everyone- I'd like to first start off that I'm a newbie.... I searched the forum for DIY immersion wort chillers and I couldn't find any related topic. Now, I'm looking for some help.

Anyone have any links they could provide me or a grocery list? I'm looking for something basic and affordable. I found a few videos online but they all use different techniques and methods.

Thanks!
HeyAwesomeDude

Re: DIY Wort Chiller Help

Sun Aug 23, 2015 7:56 am

While I appreciate the DIY spirit (I built most of my equipment), I'm not sure this is the best time for it. I built one with 3/8 copper tubing and ended up spending just about as much on the parts (tubing, fittings, hose, etc) as it would have cost to just buy one premade from northern brewer or similar. If I had to get another one for some reason, I would probably just buy it.

I think most of it just came from the cost of copper tubing, which is high, and then the high price for most of the fittings to get from the 3/8 tubing to garden hose. Mine was also less tubing than some, only using about 30'. Those ones run about 70 bucks I think. If you are making one with a lot more tubing in it (70' or something) it might work out better in your favor.

My original one from many years ago (that didn't cool very fast due to the low flow rate in the narrow tubing) use the following from Lowes:

1 - 20' 1/4" copper tubing - $20
2 - 1/4" tubing to garden hose compression fittings - $6 each
1 - 6' #6AWG copper ground wire (solid, not stranded for weaving between the coils to hold it all together) - $6 (?)

So, I had a chiller for 38 bucks give or take...but it didn't work all that well and I ended up spending 70 bucks making a bigger one later anyway.
BN Army : Cannon Fodder Division

"Risk of failure should be no deterrent to trying"
NateBrews

Sun Aug 23, 2015 11:52 am

Agreed!